Desert Sands's 2024 CA League of Educators

2024 CA League of Educators

2024 CA League of Educators
Posted on 01/18/2024
group image of 2024 League of Educators  On January 17, DSUSD’s three nominations for Region Ten’s Educator of the Year were honored at a ceremony co-hosted by DSUSD”s last year winner Katie Stahl from Amistad High School. The ceremony hosted staff, family, and friends with treats provided by the district’s nutrition services catering team.The nominees were: Dawn Barboza from Amistad High School, Liliana Bryan Mazet from Palm Desert High School, and Amy Torres from Indio High School. 

The nominees were notified of their accomplishment in December with the notice of January's ceremony and the chance of being the region’s Educator of the Year. When the nominees gathered they were each recognized for their outstanding achievements from their school’s principal and gave a speech regarding their role as an educator. A panel of judges attended via zoom, scoring the nominees’ speech and deciding who would be the region’s Educator of the Year and receive the opportunity to attend the annual conference. 

Dawn Barboza, special education teacher, was recognized by Principal Richard Pimentel for her exceptional efforts in supporting students and including families in their children’s education/accomplishments. 

Amy Torres, math teacher, was recognized by Principal Derrick Lawson for being a role model of excellence not only towards students but the whole school community. 

Liliana Bryan Mazet, EL coordinator and ELD teacher, was recognized by Principal Sarit Saig for being a magnificent teacher and staff member. 

Congratulations to all the nominees and thank you to the staff, family, and friends who joined us to celebrate these educators’ accomplishments. 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence . © 2024 PowerSchool Corporation. All rights reserved. Login